26.1 C
Monday, March 27, 2023

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, 75th Indian Independence Day

India’s much-awaited 75th Independence day is just around the corner, and all the preparations are going on to glorify “Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav” in a full-swing mode. 

What is Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav?

“What is Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav?” It is an initiative by the Government of India to tribute to the freedom fighters and learn more about the culture, people, and other achievements. It’s not just Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision but also for the people of India who have been a part of the revolutionary journey since Independence.

It first commenced on 12th March 2021 with a 75-week countdown and will continue till 15th August 2023. This will be held in five themes, freedom struggle, ideas, resolve, actions, and achievements. This Mahotsav is celebrated as a Jan-Utsav in the spirit of Jan-Bhagidari.

Significance Of Ashoka Chakra

Our pride, the Indian flag comprises saffron, white, and green colours with a 24-spoke wheel Ashoka Chakra in navy blue, resting at its centre. In our national flag, saffron symbolises strength and courage, white represents peace, and green symbolises the growth and auspiciousness of the land.   

Dr B.R. Ambedkar suggested the Ashoka Chakra in the Indian flag to honour the warrior-turned-pacifist Buddhist emperor Ashoka. It was first proposed in the constitution assembly on 22nd July 1947. And on 15th August 1947, it became the official flag for the country. 

Real Heroes Of The Nation

After so much struggle by the brave fighters, India got freedom from the Britishers on 15th August 1947. This independence was achieved through the efforts of many unsung heroes who led the country during the struggling phase. This section helps you know more about the Indian freedom fighters who sacrificed their lives. Have a glimpse: 

Subhash Chandra Bose (23rd January 1897 – 18th August 1945)

He was born into a wealthy and privileged family in Orissa. He was an Indian nationalist who fought against the Britishers. One of his famous quotes was, “Give me blood, and I will give you freedom”.

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (31st October 1875 – 15th December 1950)

Sardar Patel was a lawyer and influential political leader who served as the Deputy Prime Minister of India. Patel was born in Nadiad, Kheda, and raised in Gujarat. He actively participated in developing a united India and churned it into a newly independent nation.

Mangal Pandey (19th July 1827 – 8th April 1857)

Mangal Pandey was an Indian soldier who played a vital role in the Indian rebellion of 1857. He was born in Nagwa, Ballia, Uttar Pradesh, to a Hindu Brahmin family. In 1849, Pandey joined the Bengal army, and his actions were widespread among his fellow mates.

Rani Lakshmi Bai (19th November 1935 – 17th June 1858)

Lakshmi Bai, The Indian queen, was born in Varanasi into a Marathi Karhade Brahmin family. Later, she got married to Gangadhar Rao Newalkar and was called Lakshmibai in honour of the Hindu goddess Devi Lakshmi (a name given to women after marriage as per Maharashtrian tradition). She fought for the nation and died, a great inspiration for many young women. 

Chandra Shekhar Azad (23rd July 1906 – 27th February 1931)

Azad was an Indian revolutionary who reorganised the HRA (Hindustan Republican Association). He also became the commander-in-chief of the revolutionary party and borrowed the book “ABC of Communism” to teach about socialism to his cadres. Till his last breath, he fought for the country when policemen surrounded four sides at Alfred Park.

Bhagat Singh (27th September 1907 – 23rd March 1931)

He was a brave and charismatic freedom fighter who actively participated in the bombing of the Central Legislative Assembly, Delhi. After fighting against the Britishers, one day, Singh was sentenced to death as he was involved in the Lahore conspiracy case. 

Bal Gangadhar Tilak (23rd July 1856 – 1st August 1920)

Tilak (was entitled Lokmanya) was also an Indian nationalist, teacher, and activist. He is known for his quote, “Swaraj is my birthright, and I shall have it!” He had a long political career agitating for Indian freedom from British colonial rule. 

Bipin Chandra Pal (7th November 1858 – 20th May 1932)

Bipin Chandra Pal is yet another famous nationalist, writer, social reformer, and freedom fighter. He was an active member of the swadeshi movement and also opposed the partition of Bengal by the British colonial government. 

Lala Lajpat Rai (1865 – 17th November 1928)

Lala Lajpat Rai (also known as Punjab Kesari) was an author, freedom fighter, and politician. He played a crucial role in the independence movement. He died of a heart attack a few weeks after sustaining severe injuries during a baton charge by police against the British Simon Commission.

Alluri Sitarama Raju (4th July 1897 – 7th May 1924)

Sitarama Raju, with his armed forces, fought against the white men and aimed to expel them from the Eastern Ghats region. Rama Raju enrolled at AVN college and soon became a friend to the rich man. And then, he developed platonic love for his friend’s sister. After her demise, Raju prefixed her name and is now popularly known as Alluri Sita Rama Raju.  

Tantia Tope (16th February 1814 – 18th April 1859)

Tantia Tope was a  Maraṭha vashisht brahmin by birth who later became one of the notable leaders during the initial struggles for Indian independence. After successfully assisting Jhansi during the British assault, they took control of Gwalior Fort declaring Hindavi Swaraj. And after losing Gwalior to the British, Tope escaped to the Rajputana.

Dadabhai Naoroji (4th September 1825 – 30th June 1917)

Dadabhai Naoroji (also known as Grand Old Man of India) was a political leader, merchant, scholar, and writer. He is known for his work in the Indian National Congress and wrote the book “Poverty and Un-British Rule in India”. 

Recalling Our Honourable Indian Prime Ministers

The Prime Minister is the head of government and is chosen by the people of India.

Currently, Narendra Modi is the prime minister, and Droupadi Murmu is India’s 15th

and current president. Do you want to know more about the honourable prime ministers? Here is the list of the table that depicts the list of Indian prime ministers and their tenure:

Prime Ministers Tenure 
Jawaharlal Nehru15th August 1947 – 27th May 1964
Gulzarilal Nanda27th May 1964 – 9th June 196411th January – 24th January 1966
Lal Bahadur Shastri9th June 1964 – 11th Jan 1966
Indira Gandhi24th January 1966 –  24 March 1977;14th January 1980 – 31st October1984
Morarji Desai24th March 1977 – 28th July 1979
Charan Singh28th July 1979 – 14th January 1980
Rajiv Gandhi31st October 1984 – 2nd December1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh2nd December 1989 – 10th November1990
Chandra Shekhar Singh10th November 1990 – 21st June 1991
P.V Narasimha Rao21st June 1991 – 16th May 1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee16th May 1996 – 22nd May 2004
Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda1st June 1996 – 21st April 1997
Inder Kumar Gujral21st April 1997 – 19th March 1998
Dr Manmohan Singh22nd May 2004 – 26th May 2014
Narendra Modi26th May 2014 – Present

For more information, do check out the Prime Minister and their achievements. You will also learn about the historical decisions made by them for the betterment of the country.   

Final Thoughts

So, that’s all about Independence day. We hope you actively participate in this wonderful event. Do you have any other plans? Please share with us in the comments. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles