NATIONAL VEEP DAY Images, Facts, History

National Veep Day on August 9 recognizes the succession plan of the President of the United States. The day also recognizes one president who was not elected vice president or president – ​​Gerald Ford.


In the event of the removal of the President from office, or of his death, resignation, or inability to exercise the powers and duties of said office, the same shall devolve upon the Vice President, and Congress may by law provide for the case. on the removal, death, resignation, or incapacity of both the President and the Vice-President, stating what officer shall thereupon act as President, and such officer shall act accordingly until the disability is removed or a President is elected.


In the history of the United States, 14 vice presidents have become president. The people elected only 5 of them at some point after they completed their term as vice president. Another eight assumed the presidency due to the death of the president. And then there’s one vice president turned president who was never elected.

Vice President Facts

John Tyler

One month after being sworn in, President William Henry Harrison died in office in 1841. His vice president, John Tyler, assumed the presidency.

READ:  NATIONAL BOOK LOVERS DAY, 9 August, Images, Quotes, History

Millard Fillmore

Millard Fillmore filled the vacancy left by the death of President Zachary Taylor in 1850.

Andrew Johnson

Andrew Johnson was President Abraham Lincoln’s second vice president. His term began when Lincoln died following John Wilkes Booth’s successful assassination of the President at Ford’s Theater.

Chester Arthur

When Charles J. Guiteau assassinated President James Garfield in 1881, Vice President Chester Arthur completed his term.

Theodore Roosevelt

President William McKinley’s first vice president died of a heart attack. During McKinley’s second term, Theodore Roosevelt served as his Veep. Then McKinley was assassinated six months after the deadline. Roosevelt became the third vice president to resign under these circumstances

Calvin Coolidge

After the death of President Warren G. Harding in 1923, Vice President Calvin Coolidge assumed the presidency. He also ran for and won a second term.

Harry S. Truman

President Franklin D. Roosevelt was the only president to run for and win three terms. He also had three different vice presidents. His third Veep, Harry S. Truman, assumed the presidency when FDR died in 1945 after only three months in office.

Lyndon B. Johnson

The fourth president to be assassinated in the United States was John F. Kennedy. Lyndon B. Johnson served as his vice president. Fun fact: Richard Nixon, who today is partly inspired by, ran unsuccessfully against JFK. Before running for president, Nixon served two terms as a veep to President Dwight Eisenhower. After losing the presidential election, Nixon would run again and win two consecutive terms.

Gerald Ford

Nixon’s first vice president was Spiro Agnew. However, Agnew resigned in 1973. Gerald Ford received the position of vice president by appointment. When Nixon later resigned in 1974, Ford assumed the presidency. He is the only serving president who has not been elected to the office of veep or president.

READ:  NATIONAL BOOK LOVERS DAY, 9 August, Images, Quotes, History


Brush off your vice presidential history. While you’re at it, check out your government history as well. Have you ever heard of Levi Morton or William King? Well, they were also vice presidents. You can also test your knowledge of vice presidents or read about them.

  • Take this quiz to see how many Veeps you can name:
  • How did you do on the quiz? Pick up these books to improve your knowledge: First in Line: Presidents, Vice Presidents, and the Pursuit of Power by Kate Andersen Brower or At the President’s Side: Vice President in the Twentieth Century by Timothy Walch.
  • Host a trivia night and challenge your friends on their VP knowledge.
  • Use #NationalVeepDay to post on social media.


On August 9, 1974, Vice President Gerald Ford became President of the United States following the resignation of President Richard Nixon.

Leave a Comment